CHINKARA CUP/September 2016, Jaipur, India
Polo Season kicks-off in India!

The Indian Polo Season is back and it kicked-off with the Chinkara Cup in the Pink City. Eight teams entered this competitive tournament including 61 Cavalry, Jaipur, Mumbai Polo/Carysil Cowboys, Chandana Group and Krishna Polo/Charter Global. The final of the tournament was a face-off between Shyam Mehta’s Mumbai Polo/Carysil Cowboys and Krishna Polo/Charter Global whose patron Ashwini Sharma fielded a team for the very first time. The two finalists put on a great display of polo and in the end it was Mumbai Polo/Carysil Cowboys who were victorious with a 9-8 win over their opponents to take home the Chinkara Cup.

It was a thrilling match with the two teams level at half time at 3-all but Krishna Polo/Charter Global took a 2 goal lead in the third chukkar as Dhruvpal Godara and Basheer Ali slotted in a goal each for the debutants. Mumbai Polo/Carysil Cowboys fought back in the final chukkar and the score was equalised after a goal by Shyam Mehta. With 30 minutes to go in overtime, it was Gaurav Sahgal who met a back hand of Basheer Ali and took it to goal to clinch the title for his side. After the match Gaurav was asked if he was under any pressure when he scored the winning goal, “It was a tight game, we were playing in extra time, there was a lot of pressure but the ground was good and I was on one of my good horses so was confident that I could score”. Patron of Krishna Polo/Charter Global Ashwini Sharma was excited to reach his first final. Even though his team lost, he was not all that disappointed and said, “It feels like a part of my life has come to a full circle. The experience has not been short of any wild action movie! The final was a well fought one, it was anybody's game. I was thrilled with the team's performance and was happy to have a goal scored too”.

It was the third consecutive Chinkara Cup win for an elated Shyam Mehta who said, “It was a sensational match! One I will remember as amongst the best I've ever played! Thoroughly enjoyed every moment of it. Winning was just the icing on the cake”!

The Finalists: :
MUMBAI POLO/CARYSIL COWBOYS (8): Jayveer Singh (-1), Shyam Mehta (0), Gaurav Sahgal (4) & Samir Suhag (5).
KRISHNA POLO/CHARTER GLOBAL (8): Rajiv Reddy (-2), Ashwini Sharma (0), Bashir Ali (4) & Dhruvpal Godara (5)

Image 1