BHOPAL-PATAUDI CUP/ October 2016, New Delhi, India
Jindal Panther bag their ninth Bhopal-Pataudi Cup win

The Delhi Polo Season kicked off with the Bhopal-Pataudi Polo Cup and it was a repeat of last year’s finals with Sunjay Kapur’s Sona Polo taking on Naveen Jindal’s Jindal Panther. As the ball was thrown-in, it was Sona Polo’s Abhimanyu Pathak who took a run towards goal and it seemed that he would put in the first goal for his team as he got away quickly but was unable to convert. Thereafter, Jindal Panther put the pressure on Sona Polo with Simran Shergill scoring two goals to give the men in blue a decisive lead in the first chukkar. Sunjay Kapur opened the account for Sona Polo in the second chukkar and the score going into half time was 5-3½ in favour of Jindal Panther. Jindal Panther managed to maintain their lead throughout the match with goals from Shergill and Ricardo and the final score was 8 goals to 4½. Vandit Golecha was adjudged Most Talented Young Player and the bay mare ‘Kavai’ ridden by Abhimanyu Pathak was named the Best Polo Pony.

The Finalists: :
JINDAL PANTHER (8): Arif Khan (-2), Ricardo Nunes (4), Simran Shergill (6) & Naveen Jindal (0)
SONA POLO (7): Vandit Golecha (-2), Sunjay Kapur (0), Gaurav Sahgal (4) & Abhimanyu Pathak (5)

Image 1